Select Page

January 21, 2022

Cranes are a family of long-necked and long-legged birds, known formally as the Gruidae. There are fifteen different species of crane, which are present on all continents except for Antarctica and South America. These species are:

  • Sandhill Crane
  • Demoiselle Crane
  • Blue Crane
  • Wattled Crane
  • Siberian Crane
  • Hooded Crane
  • Whooping Crane
  • Black Crowned Crane
  • Gray Crowned Crane
  • Sarus Crane of Pakistan
  • Brolga
  • White Naped Crane
  • Red-Crowned Japanese Crane
  • Black Necked Crane

Appearance & Behavior

Cranes are brown, white, or gray in coloring and range from 35 inches long to 69 inches long. Wetland cranes tend to have more white in their coloration, whereas the dominant color in wetland and forest cranes is gray, with the smaller forest cranes tending to be darker to blend in with their habitats.

They are migratory, typically flying to warmer climates in the winter after their summer breeding season. Cranes become very territorial during the breeding season and will not venture far from their preferred territory.

Crane Facts

  • Cranes are omnivores and will eat a wide variety of foods, from acorns and seeds to small fish, insects, and frogs.
  • Because adult cranes are large, they have few predators. However, large birds of prey, foxes, and wildcats may occasionally take a crane.
  • Cranes mate for life.
  • The Siberian Crane is the most endangered crane species and has a population of just 3,500 to 3,800 birds.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.