Select Page
Killer Whale

May 1, 2022

The Killer Whales are also known as Orcas. The Killer Whales are marine mammals that belong to the sub-order of the toothed whales called odontocetes. Killer Whales are the most prominent member of the dolphin family.

Killer Whales are the most widespread of all Dolphins and Whales because they live in every ocean. The Killer Whale can be colorful, black, or white. Their appearance, behavior, diet, and communication method may vary depending on where they live.

There is more to learn about the Killer Whales, and the information below will be helpful;

Interesting Facts about the Killer Whales

  • Killer Whales are the largest members of the dolphin family.
  • The Killer Whales are brilliant; thus, they can coordinate hunting techniques.
  • The Killer Whales are fast swimmers, and they swim at a speed of up to 54kph.
  • A wild Killer Whale can cover over 160km a day, socializing and scavenging.
  • The ancient sailors came up with the name Killer Whale upon seeing this species prey on large fish.
  • Countries such as Greenland still hunt the Killer Whales.
  • Different types of Killer Whales are known as ecotypes, and they hunt specific prey and are distributed worldwide


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.