Leopard Seal

Must Try

Sebastian Acosta
Sebastian grew up on a goat farm in rural Wisconsin. He learned a lot about different animals as a youngster. While he is no longer in charge of feeding the kids, he still helps maintain the family farm on the weekends. In his free time, he travels the world and finds every opportunity to escape in nature.

Leopard seals are earless seals. They are known as “true” seals. They live in the Antarctic and sub-Antarctic regions. They are insulated from freezing waters by a heavy layer of fat called blubber.

The leopard seal is slender with a comparatively long head and long sharp teeth. It is named for its gray, black-spotted coat. Seals reach a length of 12 feet and weigh up to 900 pounds.

They are famous for preying on penguins; but, their diet is actually highly varied and changes seasonally and is highly dependent on the local availability of prey. Leopard seals eat fish, krill, squid, penguins, birds, and even smaller seals.

Fun Facts

  • Leopard seals are related to other seals as well as walruses and sea lions.
  • They are the second largest of all the seals.
  • They have unique cheek teeth which help them strain prey out of seawater.
  • The killer whale is their only known predator.
  • Both on the ice and at sea, Leopard Seals are solitary creatures.
  • On average, a leopard seal lives about 26 years.

Leopard seals can be ferocious when hunting. They are fast-moving and often catch their prey by surprise. The only time that leopard seals are seen in groups is during mating season.

Because they have so few predators, leopard seals are free to be for the most part. Their numbers are beginning to decline, so there are some conservation efforts to help protect the approximately 250,000 of them still left in the wild.

Previous articleHoney Bee
Next articleBorder Collie



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



The wildebeest, also known as the gnu, is native to the southern and eastern regions of Africa. There are two species of wildebeest, namely...


The Dalmadoodle is a cross between a Dalmation and a Poodle. Dalmadoodles are medium to large dogs with intelligence and stubbornness in equal measure. Imagine...

Saint Bernard

Saint Bernards are famous for their patience and caring dispositions. Compared to other dog breeds, they make the perfect human companions and family dogs....

Fennec Fox

The Enduring Fennec Fox Fennec foxes might be the most distinguishable of all fox species. Many recognize these unique foxes by their oversized ears that...


What a Weasel Weasels are part of the Mustela genus of the Mustelidae mammal group. For context, other Mustelidae includes otters, badgers, polecats, martens, ferrets,...

More Related Posts